Holiday Parent Time

One of the most complicated things parents have to deal with when they have a decree awarding parent time is what to do about the holidays. Most decrees state that holidays should be divided pursuant to Utah code section 30-3-35. But the language of section 30-3-35 is confusing, and it can be difficult to quickly figure out who has which holiday in which year.

We created the following chart as a quick reference for parents and service providers to help understand the standard holiday parent time for children over the age of 18 months, when both parents live within 150 miles of each other. This chart is not legal advice, and it is only intended as a broad overview of one section of the statute. Your decree may use a different schedule, and if you are in doubt, you can schedule an appointment to speak with one of our attorneys about your specific situation.

Holiday parent time for parents within 150 miles of each other
Utah Code §30-3-35 (2014)

Holiday Name

Odd Years

Even Years

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Noncustodial

Custodial

President’s Day

Custodial

Noncustodial

Spring Break

Noncustodial

Custodial

Memorial Day

Custodial

Noncustodial

July 4

Noncustodial

Custodial

July 24

Custodial

Noncustodial

Labor Day

Noncustodial

Custodial

Fall Break

Noncustodial

Custodial

Columbus Day

Custodial

Noncustodial

Halloween

Custodial

Noncustodial

Veteran’s Day

Noncustodial

Custodial

Thanksgiving

Custodial

Noncustodial

First Half of Christmas Break

Noncustodial

Custodial

Second half of Christmas Break

Custodial

Noncustodial

Day before or after Child’s Birthday

Noncustodial

Custodial

Child’s Actual Birthday

Custodial

Noncustodial