Driving on a Suspended License
Because there are many different reasons a driver’s license may be suspended, driving on a suspended license is a common criminal charge in Utah. Some typical reasons your license may be suspended include being convicted for driving under the influence, making a false statement to the Utah Driver License Division, being found incompetent to drive a motor vehicle, excessive moving violations, and driving without insurance.
While many people do consider driving on a suspended license to be a serious crime, prosecutors and judges often feel differently because operating a motor vehicle is inherently dangerous. If you have been charged with driving on a suspended license, do not take the charge lightly. Open Legal Services criminal defense attorneys can review your case to ensure you are treated fairly and help you navigate the legal process.
Driving on a Suspended License in Utah
Before you can be convicted of driving on a suspended license in Utah, a prosecutor has to prove two things. First, a prosecutor must prove your driver’s license was denied, suspended, disqualified, or revoked at the time you were caught driving. Second, a prosecutor must prove that you were actually driving on the highways of the state while your license was suspended or revoked. In some very rare cases, a driver may be able to prove that she was driving on private roads where a license is not required.
Utah Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License
Driving on a suspended license can either be a class B or a class C misdemeanor in Utah depending on the facts in the case.
Examples of driving on a suspended license as a class B misdemeanor included driving when your license was suspended because you were convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances, you were convicted of a felony offense under Utah’s motor vehicle laws, or you were convicted of a felony in which a motor vehicle was used to facilitate the offense. A judge may sentence you up to six months in jail and up to a $100 fine if you are convicted of a class B misdemeanor.
If your license was suspended for some reason other than an aggravated reason listed in the Utah statutes, you will face a class C misdemeanor. A judge may sentence you up to 90 days in jail and a $750 fine for a class C misdemeanor.